WONDERS OF INSIGHT

 

A moment’s insight is sometimes worth a life’s experience.”~Oliver Wendall Holmes

I’ve always loved searching for insight particularly in the area of psychology and philosophy…and this interest began during my first year of college when it became clear to me that I had not only psychological problems but also had no meaningful philosophy of life…and so this journey began in my freshman year of college when I read the complete works of Sigmund Freud thinking a man of his brilliance would give me the understanding I wanted so much.

Over the years I studied many different schools of thought because I assumed by accumulating information it would bring me the knowledge I was seeking. When I was in my mid twenties, I would take the summers off and become a beachcomber on the some of the beautiful beaches of Southern California.

On one of my strolls along the water edge,while in a state of deep despair about what I had learned,I hopelessly let go of all my seeking and then instantly like a bolt of lighting I became aware through insight what I now look back as the most significant experience of my life…essentially,I discovered the awareness of my right brain and it became my primary identity as well as determining my life style and value system.

I became fascinated with the experience of insight which is a way of knowing and occurs beyond our control and coming from deeper levels of consciousness …I fell in love with this process and in my own mind tried to define it.

People have often referred to insight as an experience of “eureka” or “aha!”…some of the characteristics of this process is the determination to find a solution to a problem and the willingness to give all of one’s energy to find its understanding…after much frustration and disappointment the answer may suddenly in a flash of inspiration, appearing out of thin air,seemingly coming from nowhere,often when one is not even thinking about the problem.

Currently,I believe the process occurs when the left side brain becomes exhausted with its analytical and focused thinking… and so gives up on the thought process…allowing the search to finally move over to the right side brain…when this happens the problem is looked upon in a new way creating the surprising insight.

Perhaps a simple example in which we all have experienced is the struggle of trying to recollect a forgotten name…and find when we give up in frustration,the name pops up into our awareness…and this sudden response I believe comes from the right brain.

Related Pages:
Right Brain Wisdom
Innovative Thinking
Value of Adversity

Leave a Reply

