ART OF “LETTING GO”

I have been interested in the psychology of “letting go” most of my life…I was introduced to it when becoming familiar with Oriental Philosophy as a young man…and found it one of the most valuable skills I’ve learned in life…it is primarily concerned with the letting go of our unnecessary left brain clutter which can open the door to a freer right brain.

All the art of living lies in a fine mingling of letting go and holding on.~ Havelock Ellis

We are taught much about holding on but very little about letting go.~Sid

As I started to picture the trees in the storm, the answer began to dawn on me. The trees in the storm don’t try to stand up straight and tall and erect. They allow themselves to bend and be blown with the wind. They understand the power of letting go. Those trees and those branches that try too hard to stand up strong and straight are the ones that break.~ Julia Butterfly Hill

Rigidity is a form of extreme holding on to the dominant left brain.~Sid

By letting it go it all gets done. The world is won by those who let it go. But when you try and try. The world is beyond the winning. When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be.~ Lao Tzu

The underlying message of major religions and spiritual movements is the healing power of surrender to a higher power found in the right brain.~Sid

We must be willing to let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the life that is waiting for us.~ Joseph Campbell

What is waiting for us may simply be in front of our nose if we dare to look beyond the left brain.~Sid

Letting go doesn’t mean giving up, but rather accepting that there are things that cannot be.~ Anon

“Can we find the wisdom of the right brain to change what needs be changed and accept that which can’t be changed?”~Sid

Stand up and walk out of your history.~Phil McGraw

Our inner child’s freedom and joy comes out of a lack of preoccupation with our history.~Sid

The harder you fight to hold on to specific assumptions, the more likely there’s gold in letting go of them.~John Seely Brown

There is gold deeply hidden in the right brain by a profound letting go experience.~Sid

Truly loving another means letting go of all expectations. It means full acceptance, even celebration of another’s personhood.~ Karen Casey

To fully accept someone by letting go of the left brain’s judgements can bring about the full acceptance of ourself and others,~Sid

There are things that we never want to let go of, people we never want to leave behind. But keep in mind that letting go isn’t the end of the world, it’s the beginning of a new life.~ Author Unknown

It is a common assumption by letting go of the unnecessary parts of the left brain we will experience emptiness..but instead it usually opens a door to the fresh opportunities of the right brain.~Sid
free_spirited-1-1-2

 

2 Responses

  1. Ron,

    My background and training is in Western psychology…although I am familiar with Oriental philosophy I saw it as material to translate into concepts consistent with Western psychology so it can be understood by anyone not familiar with Oriental beliefs…Jill Bolte Taylor filled in many links needed to construct this blog.

    The understanding of the role “letting go”or more appropriately “surrender” as essential to the spiritual experience has been basic to my thinking for over 55 years…and I frequently use both these words as mantras especially during periods of unusual distress.

    Sid

  2. Sid,

    This posting is another synchronistic example of how our interests are quite similar. Like you, I have been long interested in “letting go” which mostly I call “surrender”. One of my most memorable spiritual experiences, happened in India when I “let go” of intense inner suffering in an extraordinary outer environment.

    A couple of days ago, after much reflection, I posted on my SillySutras website under construction two items on surrender, including an explanation of the concept, quotes, and many of my aphorisms (which I call sutra sayings). Amongst my posted quotes were those Lao Tzu. And today, before reading your post I posted the same quote from Havelock Ellis, that you have cited above.

    I find these coincidences fascinating, and continue to greatly appreciate your “right brain” analyses, since I never previously viewed these questions from that perspective.

    So, thanks again for sharing your ideas.

    Ron

Leave a Reply

