NEUROSIS-“PEANUTS”

Peanuts and his friends suffer from the same emotional problems as most people and try their best to solve them in ways familiar to all of us…Charles Schulz captures in his cartoons the symptoms of the disturbed personality of our time…with all the left brain’s “shoulds”,role playing,ego needs,and self image, life becomes a heavy trip without clear answers to our problems.

snoopy_danceIn the cartoon,it appears only Snoopy lives in the right brain which comes out clearly when he says:” My life has no purpose, no direction, no aim, no meaning, and yet I’m Happy. I can’t figure it out. What am I doing right?” and adds “to live is to dance, to dance is to live.”~ Snoopy

Photobucket

However the playmates of Peanuts have a completely different outlook on life !

All you really need is love, but a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt. ~ Lucy Van Pelt

Auugh! I’ve been kissed by a dog! I have dog germs! Get some hot water! Get some disinfectant,get some iodine.~ Lucy Van Pelt

Big sisters are the crab grass in the lawn of life.~Linus Van Pelt

peanuts-2
Don’t worry about the world coming to an end today. It’s already tomorrow in Australia.~Peanuts

Exercise is a dirty word – Every time I hear it, I wash my mouth out with chocolate.~Peanuts

Happiness is a warm puppy.~Lucy Van Pelt

I love mankind, it’s people I can’t stand.~Linus Van Pelt

I know the answer! The answer lies within the heart of all mankind! The answer is twelve? I think I’m in the wrong building.~Lucy Van Pelt

I never made a mistake in my life. I thought I did once, but I was wrong.~ Lucy Van Pelt

I think I’ve discovered the secret of life – you just hang around until you get used to it. ~ Sally Brown chuckandsnoopy_1024x7681

If I were given the opportunity to present a gift to the next generation, it would be the ability for each individual to learn to laugh at himself.~ Peanuts

If Santa Claus exists, he’s going to be too good to punish me, even if I am naughty. And if he doesn’t exist, I don’t have to worry, right? – Wrong, but I don’t know where.~Peanuts

In the book of life, the answers aren’t in the back.~Charlie Brown

I’ve developed a new philosophy . . . I only dread one day at a time.~ Charlie Brown

Just remember, once you’re over the hill you begin to pick up speed.~Peanuts

Nothing takes the taste out of peanut butter quite like unrequited love.~ Charlie Brown

Sometimes I lie awake at night and I ask, “Why me?”, then a voice answers “Nothing personal, your name just happened to come up.”~Charlie Brown

Sometimes I lie awake at night, and I ask, “Where have I gone wrong?” Then a voice says to me, “This is going to take more than one night.”~Charlie Brown

lucy_1024x768Sometimes when I get up in the morning, I feel very peculiar. I feel like I’ve just got to bite a cat! I feel like if I don’t bite a cat before sundown, I’ll go crazy! But then I just take a deep breath and forget about it. That’s what is known as real maturity.~ Snoopy

Photobucket

That’s the secret to life . . . replace one worry with another.~ Charlie Brown

No problem is so big or so complicated that it can’t be run away from!~ Linus Van Pelt

There must be millions of people all over the world who never get any love letters . . . I could be their leader.~Charlie Brown

This is my depressed stance. When you’re depressed, it makes a lot of difference how you stand. The worst thing you can do is straighten up and hold your head high because then you’ll start to feel better. If you’re going to get any joy out of being depressed, you’ve got to stand like this.~ Charlie Brown

snoopytyping_1280x960

Try not to have a good time . . . This is supposed to be educational.~ Lucy Van Pelt

Why can’t we get all the people together in the world that we really like and then just stay together? I guess that wouldn’t work. Someone would leave. Someone always leaves and then we have to say good-bye. I hate good-byes. I know what I need. I need more hellos.~ Snoopy

Photobucket

Wouldn’t it be nice if our lives were like VCRS (video recorders), and we could ‘fast forward’ through the crummy times?~ Peanuts

2 Responses

  1. Thanks Rebecca…You have helped me have a Happy Thanksgiving! `Sid

  2. Sid
    This was a lot of fun! It’s been a long time since I enjoyed the Peanuts characters. Charles Schultz sure did a great job of helping us enjoy ourselves as human beings!
    Thanks
    Bebecca

Leave a Reply

