“WE”INSIDE OF ME”

003_yin-yang-lrg-2

“Insight into the two selves within a man clears up many confusions and contradictions.”~Vernon Howard

Jill Bolte Taylor,a Harvard brain scientist further developed our understanding of the right brain when she experienced a stroke …she tells her story on a recent video talk at TED.

What she experienced was that unlike the left hemisphere, where boundaries of objects are sharply demarcated, the boundaries of things as perceived by the right hemisphere are fuzzy, they tend to merge with their surroundings. Objects appear misshapen, having indistinct boundaries. She felt that she is literally merging with the environment, becoming one with the universe. And in Buddhist writings, that’s the essence of what they call nirvana.

“So who are we? We have the power to choose, moment by moment, who and how we want to be in the world. Right here right now, I can step into the consciousness of my right hemisphere where we are — I am — the life force power of the universe, and the life force power of the 50 trillion beautiful molecular geniuses that make up my form. At one with all that is. Or I can choose to step into the consciousness of my left hemisphere. where I become a single individual, a solid, separate from the flow, separate from you. I am Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor, intellectual, neuroanatomist. These are the “we” inside of me.”~Jill Bolte Taylor

One Response

  1. You may find it interesting to read Buddhism-influenced review of My Stroke of Insight by Dr Jill Bolte Taylor

    http://sensit.wordpress.com/2009/12/13/my-stroke-of-insight-by-jill-bolte-taylor/

Leave a Reply

