THE NATURAL FLOW OF DEATH

Let children walk with Nature, let them see the beautiful blending and communions of death and life, their joyous inseparable unity, as taught in woods and meadows, plains and mountains and streams of our blessed star, and they will learn that death is sting less indeed, and as beautiful as life.~ John Muir

Science says: “We must live,” and seeks the means of prolonging, increasing, facilitating and amplifying life, of making it tolerable and acceptable… wisdom says: “We must die,” and seeks how to make us die well.
Miguel Jugo

Our life is made by the death of others.
Leonardo da Vinci

For what is it to die, But to stand in the sun and melt into the wind? ~Kahlil Gibran

On a large enough time line, the survival rate for everyone will drop to zero. ~Chuck Palahniuk

Now he has departed from this strange world a little ahead of me. That signifies nothing. For us believing physicists the distinction between past, present, and future is only a stubbornly persistent illusion. ~Albert Einstein

Death may be the greatest of all human blessings. ~Socrates

Millions long for immortality who do not know what to do with themselves on a rainy Sunday afternoon. ~Susan Ertz

Death is for many of us the gate of hell; but we are inside on the way out, not outside on the way in. ~George Bernard Shaw

No one knows whether death is really the greatest blessing a man can have, but they fear it is the greatest curse, as if they knew well. ~Plato

Oh, for the time when I shall sleep
Without identity.
~Emily Bronte

Death is a delightful hiding place for weary men. ~Herodotus

Name me no names for my disease,
With uniforming breath;
I tell you I am none of these,
But homesick unto death.
~Witter Bynner

After all, to the well-organized mind, death is but the next great adventure. ~J.K. Rowling

Death is beautiful when seen to be a law, and not an accident – It is as common as life. ~Henry David Thoreau,

Someday I’ll be a weather-beaten skull resting on a grass pillow,
Serenaded by a stray bird or two.
Kings and commoners end up the same,
No more enduring than last night’s dream.
~Ryokan

To the psychotherapist an old man who cannot bid farewell to life appears as feeble and sickly as a young man who is unable to embrace it. ~C.G. Jung

Death a friend that alone can bring the peace his treasures cannot purchase, and remove the pain his physicians cannot cure. ~Mortimer Collins

Old persons are sometimes as unwilling to die as tired-out children are to say good night and go to bed. ~Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

There is only one ultimate and effectual preventive for the maladies to which flesh is heir, and that is death. ~Harvey Cushing

A dying man needs to die, as a sleepy man needs to sleep, and there comes a time when it is wrong, as well as useless, to resist. ~Stewart Alsop

Do not stand on my grave and weep;
I am not there. I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond glints on snow.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
I am the gentle autumn’s rain.
When you awaken in the morning’s hush,
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in the circled flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry;
I am not there. I did not die.
~Anonymous

Old men ought to be explorers
Here and there does not matter
We must be still and still moving
Into another intensity
For a further union, a deeper communion
~ T. S. Eliot

My robe hangs in the garden,
dripping like a tree.
One day I’ll step
out of my body
exactly like this.
It’s easy to die.
Just give your breath
back to the trees
and the wind.
~Peter Levitt

Related Pages:
Near Death Experience
Our Delusional Self
What is Reality ?

thsquigleblah

Leave a Reply

